Guts is enough

TLDR : Good interviews feel great

CaptainLazarus
2 min readJan 12, 2022
A scene from the movie full metal jacket where the line “Guts is enough” is said.
If you know, you know. If you don’t read and you will.

So I had an interview today. I have absolutely no idea what to do, and I must admit I thought it was going to be a horrible experience. I almost expected upper management corporate nonsense from the way my friends described how it could be.

I have given exactly 2 interviews before, and none of them were technical interviews. The thing was, I was expecting to be writing insane amounts of code regarding graphs and complex algorithms, things I’m wholly unprepared for most of the time (thing is, unless you work with that stuff daily, you won’t know it). Another thing is, doing that shit in an interview or even a coding test in some fixed amount of time is pretty hard. Especially without bugs.

So it was a pleasant surprise when the person asked me to talk about an algorithm I wrote for some project back when (It was a funny bugger, that one), gave me 2 problems that were easy by my standards, and generally seemed really chill.

I must admit, he did more advertising for his company than anyone else did, in 5 minutes, simply by being honest about it.

Now, I still have more rounds of interviews to do, however I must admit to being excited for them. Not just this interview, but most interviews in general. Who knows, maybe I’ll actually enjoy them like this one.

The main takeaway here is that people being people and not corporate drones is a highly underappreciated quality. The ability to actually be a person who can cut through bullshit? Takes guts, and guts is enough.

--

--

CaptainLazarus

I do stuff. Like stuff about code. And book stuff. And gaming stuff. And stuff about life. And stuff about stuff.